I did it My way – Really?

We went to a Valentines Day dance last night. That’s always a bit of a struggle for me – I have no rhythm so I dance terribly. I don’t like loud music so I have to wear earplugs.. but my wife loves to dance, so I want to do what she likes. We go, we dance (she dances – I lurch around) and I love seeing her happy.

At one point the band played and sang Sinatra’s “I did it my way”. I would say almost all the men and quite a few of the women sang along, mumbling most of it but always enthusiastically belting out “I did it my-y-y-y way!”

And yet – most of them surely did not.

Most of them spent their lives doing what someone else told them do to. Not only what, but when and often how. That is the typical definition of an employer/employee relationship, after all:

Direction and control – Under the common-law test, a worker is an employee if the person for whom the work is performed has the right to direct and control the worker in the way the worker works both as to the final results and as to the details of when, where, and how the work is to be done. The employer need not actually exercise control, it is sufficient that the employer has the right to do so.

(From State of Texas Tax Audit Manual)

Unless you work for yourself, you really shouldn’t be singing that song, should you?

Leave a Reply

